PDA

View Full Version : Using a real estate agent or not?

NativeWannabe
10-01-2017, 05:01 PM
We found a piece of property for sale that we want to buy. The sellers have an agent. We do not. Should we find one or can the sellers agent act as a dual agent?
Thanks.

randl
10-03-2017, 07:58 AM
We used the seller's agent as our agent, not intentionally, but it was fine. As our agent once said, it's a small island.

bonairehomes
10-06-2017, 09:49 AM
Native -

I certainly have an opinion on this since i am a real estate agent (full disclosure) but i can give you a few good reasons for having your own agent, and/or getting a second opinion.

Here are some questions to ask yourself:
- Keep in mind that first and foremost the sellers agent works for the seller, BUYER BEWARE
- Depending on the seller and his/her broker (some brokers here are very honest, some are.....) so they may or may not tell you about any known issues with the property or house (does the roof leak? Are there underground caves on this lot?) The seller is legally obligated to disclose any know issues with the property to their broker and to the buyers. In practice, this doesn't always happen. However this is a small island so an experienced broker/agent often knows about any existing problems with a property.
- It can be a good idea to get an inspection and/or appraisal - your broker can suggest the most qualified people to do those things
- And most importantly, are you getting the best possible price for the property you want to buy? Are you overpaying for this property? Can you buy a comparable lot or house for less money? I have seen people pay more than $100,000 over the "market" price of the property because they didn't do their homework and/or get a second opinion. THey negotiated for themselves and took for granted that the listing price was close to the true market price of the property.