PDA

View Full Version : Property Prices

Floaterbeth
06-22-2016, 09:45 AM
We are starting to investigate buying property on Bonaire, but we are curious about the culture on the island regarding asking price vs. selling price. In the states, we can look at Zillow and see data on how housing prices move in a given market, but there appears to be no such data bank on Bonaire. Do houses generally sell at, below or above asking price? Are negotiations common?

Andy Z
06-22-2016, 04:51 PM
Hey
Not an expert, but for what it's worth, when we were buying land on Bonaire last year we started negotiations 10% below the asking price and in the end paid around 7% below the asking price. We had very specific requirements and budget so we didn't really have many options and room for negotiations. I guess if we were more flexible on the property we could probably negotiate more or look for a better deal.
Andy

bonairehomes
06-23-2016, 10:40 AM
I am an expert and the process for purchasing property on Bonaire is similar to the process in the US/Canada and in Europe. The short answer is that the price is ALWAYS negotiable, even if the seller or brokers says it isn't.

You are right that there is no central data bank of home prices on Bonaire like Zillow, where buyers can go to research prices. Sales prices on Bonaire ARE public record, but that information isn't online so you cant just google it for free. There is some research you need to do, and there is some cost involved. There is also no MLS on Bonaire, although most brokers on Bonaire do cooperate with each other.

Since selling prices aren't readily available, sellers can ask whatever price they want to for a property. The seller sets the price whether or not they are using a broker.

Here are some simple rules: