PDA

View Full Version : seahorses and frogfish

Jessicaca
05-27-2011, 09:50 AM
Hi All - I am heading out to Bonaire from june 16-22. It's my first time and could use some advise on the best spots to see seahorses and frogfish. I read the other thread about "invisibles". so that is a must dive.. any other suggestions ? thanks so much !! happy bubbles...

barbeja
05-27-2011, 11:38 AM
Hi Jessicaca!
We've had good luck for BOTH off the beach from the Yellow Submarine dive shop. I think others often see both in this area too. Just a bit past any moored boats and before the dropoff, kinda where the sand starts getting interjected with spotty coral islands, rockpiles and gorgonians--frogfish often on some rubble, seahorses usually hiding in the gorgonians. Ask the folks at Yellow Submarine and I bet they can point you right to one or more that have just been spotted!

My wife and I will be on island at the same time as you (Jamie and Renee), maybe will run in to you!
:)

barbeja
05-27-2011, 11:39 AM
Oh and you're gonna LOVE Bonaire!!! Have a blast!

kob
05-27-2011, 11:42 AM
Jessica -- we found seahorses at The Lake in the shallows on rubble about half way to the reef. Swim straight out from the marked entry and start looking. Have a great trip !! :D:D

barbeja
05-27-2011, 11:44 AM
Sorry, don't mean to hog the thread, but I also want to recommend Karpata (if you're really adventuresome consider the drift dive from Oil Slick to Karpata), of course the Hilma Hooker (close to Invisibles), and I really like Cliff! Get the Bonaire Shore Diving Made Easy book for sure!!

Jessicaca
05-27-2011, 11:48 AM
thanks so much for all the suggestions !! I will definately put yellow submarine on the list ! Was planning on drifting from la dania to karpata, but I didn't know we could drift all the way from oil slick ! thanks for the tip.. JAime we're staying at Captain Don's..are you close by?

barbeja
05-27-2011, 12:27 PM