PDA

View Full Version : GoPro Advice

townses
12-07-2013, 09:36 AM
I'm considering picking up a GoPro for our upcoming trip to Bonaire.Looking for any advice or suggestions on these cameras.Black edition, silver edition?? Ease of use while diving, where do you mount it for diving, what accessories are worth getting, etc. I have no experience using an underwater camera, just looking for something basic that I can get some video and a few pictures.

Cheers........

Dee
12-09-2013, 05:22 AM
Hello, I can only tell you my experience with the GoPro. I have heard so many great things about it.
I purchased the GoPro 3 silver edition. I returned it because unfortunately mine had all the kinks
that are described online. The biggest one was it kept freezing and would not update and I kept having to
take out the battery to try to reset it.I heard they
fixed this in the new black but make sure you look at all the reviews and problems that other photographers have posted.
These cameras are not cheap, and by the time you get the accessories, the price is pretty high. You definitly need the extra
screen attachment on the back so you can see what you are taking pictures of.

Cornhusker
12-12-2013, 09:36 AM
We bought Silver edition and had same freezing problems and took LCD screen off the back and went freestyle and got some great pics, Did the patch update and has worked great since so I have high hopes to have a 2-week trip of no issues. Words of advice--go purchase extra 2-pack battery & charger [amazon I believe is where I got mine by Wasabi and 2-extra 64g 10-rate photo/video storage chip as with multi dives I have filled mine up and make sure I have a fresh battery when starting the dive. Also look at ne Backscatter magic filer adaptor ta attached to the unit--simple and has 2-attachment for different depths. I had the old manual clip on unit and just ordering today--it does help with pictures

Cornhusker

aquapaul
12-12-2013, 05:22 PM